TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting 2018 Now Accepting Entries

TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting 2018 Now Accepting Entries

Share this post

November 07, 2017

Annapolis, MD, November 7, 2017 – The TRACE Foundation, which promotes, supports and funds research, investigative journalism and related projects that encourage greater commercial transparency and the advancement of anti-bribery education, is now accepting entries for the 2018 TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting.

The award recognizes reporting that uncovers business bribery or corruption with the goal of increasing accountability and commercial transparency. Nominees may be print, broadcast or online reporters from any country who have investigated commercial bribery schemes, business activities that create serious conflicts of interest or similar misconduct. Entries must have appeared in print or online during 2017. Multiple entries per author are permitted, as are team entries produced by groups of journalists.  

“We are proud to continue supporting journalists undertaking this difficult and often dangerous work as part of TRACE’s broader mission to advance commercial transparency,” said TRACE President Alexandra Wrage.

A panel of independent judges will review the submissions and select up to two winning entries. Each winning entry will receive a cash prize of $10,000 USD and the reporter will be invited to an award ceremony hosted by TRACE in spring 2018.

The 2018 judges are:

William Gumede, Associate Professor, School of Governance, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg; Founder and Chairman of the Democracy Works Foundation.

Diana Henriques, Financial writer and author, formerly with The New York Times.

Rosebell Kagumire, Writer and digital communication strategist, public speaker and award-winning blogger based in Kampala, Uganda.

Peter Klein, Executive Director of the Global Reporting Centre.

Donatella Lorch, Freelance reporter, formerly with The New York Times, NBC News and Newsweek, currently based in Ankara, Turkey.

Jorge Luis Sierra, President of the Border Center for Journalists and Bloggers, journalist security consultant and formerly a Knight International Journalism Fellow with the International Center for Journalists.

The 2017 winners of the prize were the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists (ICIJ) for The Panama Papers and freelance Journalist, Dorothée Myriam Kellou, for her investigation into Lafarge's operations in Syria.

For more information or to submit an entry, visit The closing date for entries is 31 January 2018.

For more information, contact Caitlin Seymour, [email protected] (+1) 718.930.758


Leave a Reply

Leave this field empty:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *